What is the difference between the “User stopped responding” and “User left the conversation” notifications?

User stopped responding

The main difference between the two is that the state User stopped responding is shown based on a timeout.
If the visitor stops interacting with the bot for at least 10 minutes, either because they closed the tab or are just ignoring the widget, then the user will be put in the User stopped responding state.

16171617

Here the user is put in the user stopped responding state

User left the conversation

Meanwhile, the User left the conversation is shown based on an action.
If the visitor closes the widget via the X button then the user will be put in the User left the conversation state.

353353

The user closes the widget

16181618

And then they are put in the user left the conversation state

User completed the conversation

There is one additional case which is the User completed the conversation.

If the visitor goes down a path that includes a Close bot action then the user will be put in the User completed the conversation state.

573573

This is a path that includes a close bot action

353353

Here the user goes down that path

16231623

And therefore they are put in the user completed the conversation state